Parc Howard Museum & Gardens

Parc Howard Museum & Gardens

Parc Howard Museum, an attractive Bath stone villa set in the heart of a picturesque park and gardens, tells the remarkable story of Llanelli’s past through its fascinating collections. Llanelli expanded rapidly through mining, industrialisation and immigration, becoming the tinplate manufacturing centre of the world and acquiring the nickname ‘Tinopolis’. The town has a large Welsh-speaking community and a proud cultural, religious and sporting heritage. The museum’s ‘Llanelli Story’ gallery explores the people and events that shaped this extraordinary town’s identity.

Parc Howard is was built in 1885 by the Buckleys, a family of successful brewers. The house and a founding collection was subsequently gifted to the town in 1912 as a public museum by Sir Stafford-Howard and Lady Stepney to mark the occasion of their first wedding anniversary. Today the museum is home to the largest public collection of Llanelli pottery and a fine art collection with highlights by J D Innes, Hubert von Herkomer, Christopher Williams, and Edward Morland Lewis. It also includes fascinating curiosities such as the Stepney Spare Wheel, invented and made in Llanelli from 1904 for early cars and sold globally where spare tyres are still sometimes still referred to as ‘stepneys’.

Parc Howard Museum is a majestic Bath stone villa surrounded by beautiful gardens. Its displays tell the fascinating story of a remarkable town, its people, character and events. It is also home to the largest public collection of Llanelli Pottery and works of art by and of Llanelli subjects.